Student with appropraite attire questions

mnazabroad

May 2, 2003
I'm a female student from the United States who will be spending 7 weeks in Santiago this summer, studying at Pontificia Universidad Cat?lica Madre y Maestra. I'm looking for some guidelines for appropriate dress for the summer . . . I've spent many summers in Arizona, so I'm used to wearing shorts and tank tops to minimize the effects of the heat, but I'm concerned that this may not be appropriate for my summer in the Dominican Republic. If any of you can help me at all in this respect, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks a million!

MaineGirl

The Way Life Should Be...
Jun 23, 2002
amity.beane.org
In my experience, jeans, slacks and skirts are preferable to shorts (unless you are home or on the beach.) Sleeveless shirts are ok in my book but spaghetti strap tanks are not (unless I am napping). When you get there, copy someone you admire and respect in the manner in which they dress. The shorts and t-shirt culture of the States doesn't exist in the DR as far as I can tell (unless you are a tourist). And forget about rolling out of bed and going to class in your pj's, like I did when I was in college.

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002
I don't remember how they dressed, didn't have a chance to note. When I drove by the place and glanced sideways to admire the view, my wife noticed and told me to pay attention to the road. One of the Santiago locals will be able to assist you more in this matter.

I would surmise, you will be attending a Catholic university and the dress code would be modest, meaning at least that shorts, above the knee dresses, and sleeveless blouses will be off limits.
Regards, PJT

kjdrga

Mar 25, 2002