US citizen looking for a job in DR, suggestions?

hoganfl

May 4, 2003
Hello everyone, my name is Del and i'm a resident of the US, not that good in speaking spanish but i'm learning, I also have a bachelors degree in health science and minor in business, the reason for me joining this board is to meet people and develop contacts in hopes of finding a career in DR, im very open to change and will look into any lead, oh by the way i'm a sales rep for Xerox, and did I mention I like the Domincan Republic? I look forward to any and all replies, thanks again ladies and gentlemen!!

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Your chances are slim to none if seeking a professional-level job on your own. Your best bet is to see if Xerox will send you here in some capacity. You might find work as a bartended or something like that, but your post indicates that isn't what you have in mind.

This is a Spanish-speaking country. Until you are proficient in Spanish, I wouldn't give you much hope of finding anything close to what you are looking for. Even then it won't be easy. Jobs are hard for anyone to find in this country, including graduates of Dominican colleges and unversities.

hoganfl

May 4, 2003
Thanks for the reply

So what other things you think I can explore, i'm not particular in what profession I take, and i'm not moving down for the money although i'm not looking to move into a shithole either.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
There is very little help you can get from this board. You need to come down for an extended stay and really investigate your options and possibilities.

You say that you really like the DR. On what do you base this. Is your experience here a couple of vacation visits, possibly spent in All-Inclusive hotels, or have you spent the time here necessary to know what it would be like if you lived here.