Dominican Baseball Players

Larry

Gold
Mar 22, 2002
I heard that when Sammy Sosa was a boy, he was so poor that he had to shine shoes. I assume that many other Dominicans that made it to the Major Leagues (Soriano, Pedro, Mondesi, Tejada, etc.) and are now multi Millionaires came from poverty as well. Now that these people have more money than they could ever spend, I wonder what, if anything, they are doing to try and help Dominicans that are mired in poverty. Are they being charatible or just living high on the hog with their multi-million dollar contracts?
Larry

getonwithit

Mar 17, 2003
i have little idea about their backgrounds (i know sammy is from spm), but am sure they help their compatriots in some form or other.

i do believe that it's not the players who should be obliged to help with poverty here or any other place in the world, but the people who are actually paying them in the first place.
there is something wrong that sports personalities, who are doing something they want to do anyway, are paid pot loads of money by fat cats. the fat cats sit back smoking their cigars, while pressure is put on the players on how to spend their money.

woudn't it be great if the fat cats had to pay the equivalent of each and every players' salary to a charity of the player's choice.
in the d.r., though, you would suddenly see a lot more new charities and a lot more new avenues for corruption.

anyway, that said, sammy "solido" sosa has a house just round the corner from me, it's supposed to be loaded with different cars and jeepetas. i'm sure he gives shoe shine boys the occasional 'bola'.
- hey, it's their money, their conscience. let them do what they like with both.

Cleef

Bronze
Feb 24, 2002
Pedro has...

...done quite a bit for his home town Managuayabo (sp?). He's built a church, put together some businesses. I'm short on details but I've read quite a bit in the past.