L.E.T.S. do it!

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
An example of a LETS scheme

Local Exchange and Trading Scheme
Just to sum up it is an example of a cashless economy where people exchange services. You advertise what you have to offer, it could be babysitting, translating, lending your car, gardening, or whatever, and the scheme allocates a value to the service in units which are the 'virtual currency' of the scheme. Each scheme has its own 'currency'. In Oxford where I used to live it was a 'spoke' as in bicycle spokes.

You notch up credits on a central register or debits if you use others' services. I have no direct experience myself but people I know who are active in LETS schemes are very enthusiastic.

Any suggestions on what DR1ers could offer? Seriously though, it is a system that lends itself to this medium and we could easily set one up if enough were interested. We have to think of a quintessentially Dominican name for the scheme (trueque?) and for the currency unit. Any ideas?

Chiri

Timex

Bronze
May 9, 2002
1st THINGS 1st!!!!!!!!!!

Before you guys start...........
Keep it clean!!!!
I know what some of you are getting ready to trade!!!!!!!!!

Tim H.:cool:

socuban

Nov 24, 2002
Re: 1st THINGS 1st!!!!!!!!!!

Timex said:
Before you guys start...........
Keep it clean!!!!
I know what some of you are getting ready to trade!!!!!!!!!

Tim H.:cool:

~~~~~~~~~~

LOL:cool:

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Dare I ask?

What are you offering, Jazz?

I can offer interpreting and translation services... and I need a babysitter.

Chiri

pamela1

May 21, 2003
That's brilliant!

Hey, I think that is ideal! What a good idea.
Are you going to post all the offers and takers on the forum? Will you list what people are giving and taking there?
I would like to take part in the summer time.
I am not really picky with the type of work I do but I am afraid i really don't have much to offer.

Escott

Gold
Jan 14, 2002
www.escottinsosua.blogspot.com
Re: Dare I ask?

Chirimoya said: