Safety in DR

cadaha

Jun 10, 2003
My wife and I are supposed to be moving to the DR in the next 4 weeks. We are hoping to move to an area between Sosua and Cabarete. We have recently read two guides to the area and because of the information contained in the books we are now reconsidering the move.

We have heard that the local male population are aggressive and abusive to females; that prostitues acost males and that the Police regularly stop drivers and demand bribes.

As I would be taking up a post as a Diving Instructor my wife would be alone at home during the day and the information from the publications has made me worried for her safety.

If anyone could tell me what it really is like to live there I would be eternally grateful as this information could make the difference to whether we continue with our plans or not.

Regards

Carl

Larry

Gold
Mar 22, 2002
cadaha

I have been to sosua 5 times have never experienced those things on that extreme a scope. Prostitutes are in certain parts of sosua and when you identify these areas..aviod them if you wish. Dominican males wont badger your wife and she will be safe at home while you are working. Make sure you wear you seatbelt while driving or you might be summonsed. Other than that I just drove all over the north coast and through santiago and jarabacoa for a total of 5 days and was never bothered. Be observant and aware of your surroundings and use common sense. You and your wife will be fine.
Larry

Last edited:

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
My wife and I have been living in the DR since 1986, and in Sosua for the past 3 years. I know a number of other expatriates who live in Sosua, Cabareate, and in between. If this was an unpleasant place to live, few if any of us would still be here.