Usad

bendaco

Oct 23, 2003
Is the UASD the best choioce for medical school in DR? I am considering helping fund the medical education of a Haitian man I know. He has been unable to go to medical school in Haiti because he did not score well enough on a test there (although I understand he did fairly well). I am a physician myself and met this man while on a medical mission to Pastor Cassy's school and orphanage in Port-au-Prince.

Is an enterance exam required for admission? Why do they not have a website? I noted that many US physicians have gotten their degree at USAD.

Last edited:

NV_

Bronze
Aug 4, 2003
If you mean the UASD (Universidad Autonoma de Santo Domingo), that is the "goverment run" university... IMO, it is definitely not one of the better institutions in the country...

I would have to say that UNIBE (Universidad Iberoamericana...my sister is in her 4th year of medicine there) would probably be one of the better med schools in the D.R..

bendaco

Oct 23, 2003
Medical school in DR

Is UASD a "bad" school? And does anyone know why they have no website - that seems like a bad sign. How can I get more info on the school? Must I write to them? Are there any websites that evaluate the DR Medical schools?

NV_

Bronze
Aug 4, 2003
I, personally, would call it a bad school... Since its a goverment run institution, it has a lot of "problems". If its not the professors going on strike because they havent been paid in months or being paid too little its the students rioting because they pay for their education and professors dont show up. A few years back I had my car pegged with a rock when I found myself "too close" to the UASD while they were rioting... learned real quick to stay away from those "flash" points while driving in the D.R...

The one time I did enter into the school to drop off a co-worker, the classrooms and buildings looked pretty beat up and I saw no signs of A/C...

I have heard tuition is extremely cheap though...