Please I want to move to DR right NOW

Papi'sGirl

Nov 5, 2003
I am married to a Dominican. I am American. We want to move to the DR. He has not been there since he was 14 and longs to go back to the lifestyle and friendliness of his country.
I am a Licensed Nursing Home Administrator and a Licensed Practical Nurse. Every job search link I find says "no jobs found in your search criterea" because I search for jobs, any jobs in the DR.
Does anyone have any advice on how to find employment or how does one go about just packing up and moving over with no job secured. We have elementary school aged children also.
Any advice or personal stories would be so very appreciated!:confused:

Timex

Bronze
May 9, 2002
Hola, Papi'sGirl!!!!

Papi'sGirl, Have you ever been to the DR?
What part of the island does your husband come from?
Are the kids in school now?
Why not come for a long vacation?
You husband might cure his home-sickness, and you would have tested the water before jumping in.

What you are thinking of doing, takes some planning.

For other People's stories of moving here, try the link below.
Popular Post's / Past Sticky's. Required reading for Newbies!!!

DR1 has---
Members: 4,688, Threads: 25,379, Posts: 160,372

Do your homework (Search, Search, and Search again!)
Ask your questions.
And Good Luck!

By the way---
Welcome to DR1!!! :cool::cool::cool::cool:

Thanks
Tim H.

Help, and be Helped.
That?s why were here!!!

Last edited:

mainer

Mar 22, 2002
Do a search

You do not say where in the DR you want to move. Does your husband have family there? I cannot speak for the cities of Santo Domingo or Santiago, but your nursing license is pretty useless in the Sosua area. Trust me, you do not want to work in a public hospital. I found that most of my foreign friends owned a business of some sort. The business owners tended to hire Dominicans because they will work for lower wages.