If you're a dominican man

Status
Not open for further replies.

carl ericson70

Nov 15, 2003
All,
bare with me as I'm no expert on genetics.So feel free to correct me if and where I'm wrong.Last night I happened to watch a pbs broadcast which high-lighted a newly launched program aimed at finding ethnic african origins of blacks in the u.s. and a few places in the carribean,via genetic simpling and comparison to modern day ethnic groups in africa.The purpose of the program is to foster some sense of history(outside of slavery)for new world blacks,who're pretty much the victims of stolen identities.Yada yada yada.

The problem with the program is that,because there was mixing between the races during slavery & after,a sizable percentage of people participating in the study are finding that their paternal line doesn't go back to african ethnic groups,but to europe.Especially with black men!

Anyways,what I'm driving at if it's true that a person's line of descent is easier to trace via their father and there has been quite a bit of open race mixing in the DR,if one is a dominican male,is his paternal line more likely to go back to spain/france than to africa?

Your take?
Carl e.

How many generations is the program going back?

Because there was another program similar to that discussing the issue of DNA and Genes and that everybody traces back to Africa. It was also stated that because the gene pull is so dense in africa that if all the countries in the world were destroyed except the continent of Africa, Only that continent has every gene pull/DNA whatever....could create the diversity of colors that we see today. I guess its like that Jarasic Park Movie.