remodel or build from scratch?

foratag

Jan 6, 2004
My wife and I are going to end up with a home in DR. We have seen some places that we like, but no interiors that suited us. We're trying to weigh the options of gutting and remodeling, or starting from scratch. We'd like to get some input from those with opinions.

We would also like some thoughts from people that have built from scratch. Did you end up happy with the job/costs/time to complete/hassle etc. or do you feel like you'd have been better off buying a ready made place. Any extra advice is also gladly accepted.

Thanks.

W&J

lhtown

Jan 8, 2002
Much as with buying property, it would be best to live here for a couple of years in a rented or borrowed place and then decide what you want. You could save yourself a lot of money and be happier in the end.

However, if you have already done that or don't want to do that, the decision will largely come down to you personal tastes. I am far from an expert, but if you can live with the though of putting a lot of money into a reasonably new, but already built home, that should be easily the cheapest option and possibly less of a headache particularly if you are contracting out the job, but you will be there to oversee the work. IMHO, there will be many things come up that and problems to work out for which it is better that you be there on a remodel job. Building a new house is more straightforward although you still have to oversee it.

If you are looking for a very specific location or you can't find a shell that you are happy with that is solid with good foundations, support, etc, then you have little option but to build from scratch.