newbie responds to FAQ's

bcmike

Jan 29, 2004
Greetings all.

As a newbie here, and an increasingly frequent visitor to "The Dominican", I would like to relay my feelings about the FAQ issue. Newbies (like me) are VERY unsure as to whether they are really welcome to post on a subject. We usually don't have a great deal of knowledge on DR subjects, so we have no choice but to ask questions.

For instance, I posted on the last night of the strike, asking , probably too vaguely, if most of the members were in the north. What I was wondering was whether the south was having similar experiences that the north was having. I got a rather terse reply that "you should have started a new thread, as the strike ended yesterday." (or to that effect).

We newbies don't KNOW when to start a new thread..after 12 hours? 3 days? We are usually very new to a forum style of communication. Many people find this site via a link, and may not be aware how extensive the info base is at first. I'm slowly learning how to really use this forum, and it is wonderful, but intimidating too.

My perspective.Thanks.

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
Hi bcmike,

Greetings from Nova Scotia.

Welcome to DR1!

Many newbies lurk for a while (some for a long time) until they get the sense of the board - some jump right in. Either way you usually reap what you sow. If you search the archives to find the answers to oft asked questions you are less likely to raise the ire of some frequent posters who understandably tire at seeing the same unresearched questions week after week after week from some starry eyed newbie who has fallen in love with the country or a Dominican after a whopping seven day AI experience in "the Dominican", as you call it.