Moving to Puerto Plata to be with Fiance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiesta Mama

Bronze
Jan 28, 2004
Okay let me start this again - I already tried and think I missed something.

Anyway, I am new to DR1 and am hoping to get some helpful advice from those already living in the DR.

I will be moving from Canada to be with my Fiance. We are planning to get married in the fall of 2004 and want to spend some quality time together before getting married. This will also give us a chance to plan the wedding and for me to see if I can hack it there. We have debated whether he should move to Canada or I should move there and we have decided that although DR is definitely not as developed as Canada, I think it is a much slower and simpler pace of life and what we both want.

My fiance and I have found true love and it's unfortunate that I have read so many posts about love gone wrong in the Dominican. I can guarantee that there are lots of decent, loving men in the Dominican but it's like any country in that you will find lots of unfaithful men looking for your money and "sankies".

Anyway, what I want to know is what life is "really" like in the DR. My fiance has a house in a small country town about 25 minutes from Puerto Plata so I don't have to worry about money for accomodations. He does not make a lot of money but always has enough money for food, living, having fun, etc. and has told me that I will not have to work but I am very willing and able to work. How much money is really required to survive there (and I am talking about not having luxury but just being able to eat, have shelter and live a happy simple life)? Since I am from Canada, I also want to be able to return home at least once per year to visit my family and will need the money for airfare. I don't have more than $5,000 CDN saved so I will need to work to get money to be able to do this.