Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    72
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default What do I need for my UK TV??

    Dear All,

    When I moved here in December I brought with me a Plasma TV from England. After having the cable installed at my house I went to plug the thing in only to find that the cable connectors are somewhat different to the normal arial (UHF) connectors we have in the UK.
    I examinded the cable and found it to be the usual co-axial stuff that I am usd to so I asked a friend to bring me over a connector from the UK so that I may attach it to one end of the cable. This I did last night, but the bloody thing wont work!! I can only guess that the TV´s you buy here, unklike those in the UK have an inbuilt cable descrambler or something like??

    So, can anyone tell me how I can watch cable TV on my UK TV? I am guessing that I will need some kind of set-top-box? and if so does anyone know where I can buy one?

    Regards

    Nick

  2. #2
    DR1
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    0
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You will need to get UK connecters and replace them. The coax and cable impedance should be the same.

    I hope your plasma has the right surge protection and can cope with varying voltages. This is why we ALWAYS advise people to buy their home appliances here, as usually the ones they bring form overseas either don't work or die very quickly.

    Also note that UK TV's use the PAL standard and the USA and most of Latin America use NTSC.

    Good luck, your going to need it

  3. #3
    Silver
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    4,192
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I would be more worried about the different cycles and voltage used (PAL/NTSC - 220 - 110 volt) between UK and North American systems. There is a chance it will not work unless you get some kind of adaptor system.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    18,110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default that is what i think

    Isn't England/UK on 110/50 cycles? Here we use 110/60 cycles.

    You need some sort of an adapter...Also beware of the 220/50 cycle possibility. Check what it says on the back of the TV...

    *sparks** Frsitzzzzzzzzt! !ĦĦĦBLOOOOIE!!

    Adios plasma TV...

    HB

  5. #5
    Silver
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3,438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    First of all, you'll need a 110 to 220 (Voltage converter) Second a NTSC to Pal/Secam converter, and the connection form the converter to the TV. Good Luck.

  6. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Plasma television

    I had the exact same problem with my plasma television. Adapters will not help this problem. What I had to do was purchase a Super VHS unit and run the cable through the Super VHS. You will need S video cables for the connection. As soon as I got the Super VHS and hooked it up to the receiver and putting the television cable into it I instantly had cable television.

    If you have a new questions let me know.

    LA Woman

  7. #7
    *** Sin Bin ***
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like

    Post The adaptors should work ...

    ... but a simplesolution is to bring the local video signal into a locally bought device such as a VCR with an S-VHS output, and then connecting your S-VHS cable between the VCR and the TV. Essentially you're using the VCR as a converter. But, you do need power protection/conversion for the TV as well. I'd certainly at minimum put it behind a good computer UPS/Surge-Protector before ever plugging it in.

    When you get it running, send me some of Mr. Bean's episodes from BBC1. Robert won't share any of his with me and I even offered to trade some three-stooges. But he said with Hippo, Chavez, and Castro around that would be redundant. :: sigh ::

    Tom aka [FONT=Black Chancery]XR [/FONT]Cross country skiing is great if you live in a small country.

    P.S. I was reminded by this post of a little story that reflects on life in the pre-new-world-order-world about the three TV standards. The USA uses NTSC. US engineers jokingly refer to this as Never Twice the Same Color because the TV sets allowed you to adjust both the tint and the color intensity. Freedom! In Europe, a more socialist place, they took away your right to choose the tint and called it PAL. And in the communist states they used a system they called SECAM which did not allow you to adjust the color or the tint! Believe it or not they used to have radios, on trains for instance, in the East Block which could not be shut off. When I asked once how to turn the radio off I got a terse reply explaining that it will go off when they are finished talking to you! Really! Ahhhhh! Those were the days. Eh, Pasha? LOL.

  8. #8
    DR1
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    0
    Post Thanks / Like

    Thumbs up

    I'm so glad we have so many experts on this board

  9. #9
    DR1
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    0
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hillbilly
    Isn't England/UK on 110/50 cycles? Here we use 110/60 cycles.
    240v 50hz

    http://www.powerstream.com/cv.htm

    Amazing how much it changes around the globe.

  10. #10
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    534
    Post Thanks / Like

    Wink Suggestions for UK TV

    Can I suggest that you turn it on it's side and use it as a coffee table?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •