where can i find information on the mirabal sisters?

amandasp

Mar 3, 2004
i am a college student and i have to write a paper on their part in the fight against trujillo and on thier lives....is there anyway anyone in this site can help me.....is there anywhere on the web that i can find information on them????? if so please email me asap at amandita_para_ti@hotmail.com

pati

Feb 3, 2004
There's a movie called "In the Time of the Butterflies" that is on video/dvd. The movie is based on a book by Julia Alvarez.

marliejaneca

Bronze
Oct 7, 2003
Also, if you click on the search button on the top of this thread and type in Mirabal sisters, there are a few threads discussing them. One of the threads is from someone that was doing a research paper such as yourself. One of the responses said to contact the University of New York and lists the contact numbers etc for the Dominican Studies program.
Sorry I would have included the links in this post but there are a few - some may not be interesting to you so this way you can pick and choose from the list.
Hope that helps.
Marlie

Last edited:

Talldrink

El Mujeron
Jan 7, 2004
Amanda did you choose this subject or was it assigned to you? My family got to meet them, Trujillo actually had a lot of property in San Cristobal where my family settled years ago from Ocoa. It is in fact a sad story and the move (with Salma Hayek and Marc Anthony) is a gret way to start, Although, of course, the book is better.

Can you let me read your paper when you are done? I would love to see what else you find out.

Gabriela

Bronze
Dec 4, 2003
Mirabel Museum