Study abroad in DR

mankind

Mar 6, 2004
My daughter is interested in studying abroad for a semester in Santiago. Does anybody have any info about studying abroad in the DR?

nancybelle

Feb 9, 2004
study abroad

I am considering the same thing--studying at least for a few weeks. I have not been able to locate any language schools in Santiago but there are 3 or 4 that seem very good in Santo Domingo. The one I am leaning toward is Hispaniola Academia Caribe de Lenguas. Good luck! I think it will be a grand experience. I studied for 4 summers in Salamanca, Spain, but still need far more instruction!!

mankind

Mar 6, 2004
nancybelle said:
I am considering the same thing--studying at least for a few weeks. I have not been able to locate any language schools in Santiago but there are 3 or 4 that seem very good in Santo Domingo. The one I am leaning toward is Hispaniola Academia Caribe de Lenguas. Good luck! I think it will be a grand experience. I studied for 4 summers in Salamanca, Spain, but still need far more instruction!!
What program are you looking at? We were looking at CIEE

nancybelle

Feb 9, 2004
study abroad

mankind said:
What program are you looking at? We were looking at CIEE
I went to www.spanishabroad.com and found out about the school called Hispaniola Academia Caribe de Lenguas. I like that it is in the Colonial Zone of Santo Domingo and the school is affiliated with the one I attended in Salamanca. It has a good reputation. I am sure the CIEE is good, too. I believe it was mentioned in one of the guide books I have been looking through. I think all of the schools offer a variety of accommodations, too, and their fees for tuition, etc. seem reasonable. I think your daughter would probably love staying with a family; she will learn faster. I opt for the hotel as I am considerably older (a retired teacher) and need peace and quiet after a busy day!!

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
RE: Language or study here