Santiago Airport to POP airport

Schmen

Mar 7, 2004
Hello,
I am a newbie American woman flying into Santiago airport next week at six pm and need to pick up my brother the next day at pop airport at 2 pm (we are headed on to Cabarete). I am on a restricted budget and do not know if it is best to stay in a hotel in santiago that evening (and they all seem expensive at least on the web) or take transport up to the POP airport that night. I also do not know how difficult this will be to do at night and whether or not there is a hotel adjacent to the airport or extremely nearby (to save $ on cab fare the next day). Any suggestions on good cheap ways to get from STI to POP and have some sort of cheap accommodation somewhere along the way in either place? Any help is appreciated. I have found this message board to be extremely useful and I hope you all have a great day.
Schmen

El Tigre

El Tigre de DR1 - Moderator
Jan 23, 2003
Hi Schmen,

There is an incredible amount of inexpensive Motels right near the STI airport. I know you are probably thinking MOTEL no way. But let me say this. You will be very impressed if you stay in one of the motels in the area. You can try Venus, Ethics, Zeus or the new one called Horus. They are nice and cheap. If you get the standard room you will pay about $30 for the night.

All you have to do is tell the taxi driver the name and they will know. Next day you dial 0 on the phone and ask for a taxi. Then ask the taxi to take you to Caribe Tours or Metro bus stations. This will get you to POP.

Hope this helps.

Schmen

Mar 7, 2004
thanks El Tigre

El Tigre said:
Hi Schmen,

There is an incredible amount of inexpensive Motels right near the STI airport. I know you are probably thinking MOTEL no way. But let me say this. You will be very impressed if you stay in one of the motels in the area. You can try Venus, Ethics, Zeus or the new one called Horus. They are nice and cheap. If you get the standard room you will pay about $30 for the night.