OMG this stupid Italian!!

Mark1

Mar 17, 2004
OMG this stupid mind!!

Hello there!!!

Here you have an Italian guy of 36 thinking seriously to live in RD at least 1 year.

I've been reading with great interest all the posts a human being can read in a couple of days (geez i feel dizzy :dead: :) ) and really enjoyed it.

Lots of great infos and suggestions.
Thanks all for their contribution to this forum!

Now before you all eat me alive (j/k), I think I'd better give you a little piece of info about me.

I am from Bologna (north Italy), currently living in Modena (no don't worry you are not going to see a new Ferrari speeding in your neighbourhood very soon.... Lol)

I am a stock trader and I've been doing this job since 1998 (yep I'm one of those 5 % who can make it). I ve never worked for a firm, I just invest my own capital on a daily basis (they call us daytraders) and earn a " decent" amount of money ( aaah the power of compounding).
Oh and by the way, if someone ask me when I'm there, I'm just a poor Italian with no money... :cool:

This basically to say that I don't need to find a job in RD (well actually mentoring could be another source of income, not an easy task anyway...).

I 've read a couple of posts on this forum that makes me think I'm not the only one who needs a fast and reliable connection over there,I know DSL is available in many areas of the country,and I'm also aware of the increase of power outage so here come my questions:

How good is DSL over there? I mean do you experience frequent disconnection or abrupt drop of bandwidth during the day?

I think I can manage to keep the power going on those so frequent "nayluz moments" to supply my 2 laptops( inverters, etc.) but DSL is NOT AN OPTION here, a bad connection can cost me real $ in a few minutes . Obviously as any good risk manager i have a plan B and C (dialup connection, broker telephone etc).
This job is stressful enough without the need of more complication.