A few random questions

leeshy813

Mar 31, 2004
As a 1st time traveller to DR, I just have a few questions...hoping there's someone out there who can advise...

1- Was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to whether it's better to exchange US$ for DR$, or to bring travellers cheques instead of cash?

2- Is there anyone who's stayed at the Riu Bachata? What's the scoop on the ala carte dining? Is it worth it?

3- What's considered good tipping for waiters, housekeeping at the resort, and taxi drivers?

Thank you to anyone who can give me some info! :p

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
1. It's better to exchange cash rather than using travellers check, more so if you're going to remote places, but also for convenience sake! Only exchange in small amounts (say $100 dollars per day or something) because you won't be allowed to convert all of your left over pesos in to Dollars. Keep that in mind.

2. Have not stayed at the Riu Bachata, so can't help here.

3. Give US$1 if you got bad service and request better attention to that waiter or whomever you're giving the tip, it almost always works! Give US$2 if you got good service, notice how the good service becomes stellar afterwards. And give US$3 if the service is stellar. Also, you might want to take some toiletries for some of the maids and maybe some coloring books and/or crayons for their children. For the work these hotel employees do, they get paid very lousy. Please, never give anything directly to any kid, even if the kid asks for it. I'm sure you don't want to help turn little kids into beggars. Other than that, enjoy the Dominican Republic.

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
Should search and advice anyway even without the search

leeshy813 said:
As a 1st time traveller to DR, I just have a few questions...hoping there's someone out there who can advise...