Looking for advice on where to stay in DR

altgrrl

Apr 11, 2004
I'm planning a trip to the DR in August, and am looking for some help on places to stay, activities, costs, etc. I don't want to stay in one of those touristy resorts per se as I've lived in Central America and enjoyed much more modest accomodations...simply put I want to get a feeling for the DR, not be a tourist. Cost is an issue as i'm a student so i don't have a lot of money to spend. Any help you all can offer would be greatly appreciated.

dale7

Apr 18, 2002
www.stores.ebay.com
I don't know what you are looking for, beaches, rural, etc. There is a little place I like to stay at in the middle of the country, Santiago Province located right on La Ventana River. It is a new hotel, about 1.5years old and costs about 15US a night for a single room and is frequented by very few tourists. It is called Hotel Sajoma outside of San Jose de las Matas(Sajoma) owned by Mariana y Miguel Pena. I have 2 telephone numbers plus a cell number: 939-4223, 578-8234, and cell number 914-7763.