Former Peace Corps Volunteer Looking to Spend Summer in DR

jhobbsvargas

Apr 23, 2004
Ret. DR Peace Corps Vol. and Wife Looking to Spend Summer in DR volunteering

Hi all. I hope all is well in Quisqueya. Wondering if anyone has any ideas. My wife and I (she is Dominican), want to spend the summer in the DR. Here is the catch... she is finishing her degree in intl. business and I am a graduate student at Brandeis (intl. development). We are leaving for another country in September and are looking to relax, work, have fun, and not spend an arm and a leg working in D.C.

Now since we are both in the states it is a little complicated. I lived in Santiago and Monte Plata for three years and she is vegana. We are not really looking to get paid (it would be nice of course), but rather do not want to pay a ridiculous amount of money for one of these see the world programs after having already traveled so much already. So if anybody knows of any opportunities for two 20 something bilingual students that will work for housing, food, and a couple of pesos please respond. (please only serious responses... if we wanted just anything we would go stay with her folks in La Vega!!!)

p.s. i have traveled, worked, or visited just about every pueblo and know the country pretty well.

Last edited:

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004