Newbie visitor to DR requiring info

lefgirl

May 21, 2004
I am travelling to Cabarete with my partner next Friday staying at Aparthotel Caracol for 2 weeks. :laugh:

As I am a newbie to the DR, have never been to anywhere like this and have not travelled outside the UK for 11 years :disappoin I was wondering if there was anyone out there who could give me some general hints and tips so I don't get ripped off (as we are self catering). I booked the DR as a friend of mine has been and she said it was the friendliest of the Carribbean Isles but sometimes I can be too nice for my own good and frequently get conned.

Also, we are taking my mother-in-law as she has had a really rough ride of it lately so we thought she could use some cheering up. She is in her late 50's and upon visiting some of the discussions on this site it seems that Cabarete has quite a young lively party atmosphere - do you think she will fit in?

Finally, does anyone know when Race Week starts in Cabarete this year?

Many thanks guys (and girls)

Jimmydr

Bronze
Apr 17, 2003
www.insearchofchicas.org
Caberete

I have been going to Caberete since 1997 and have returned 24 times after that. Its an easy going town with not really that many trying to get over on you. I never had any problems there ever.

Your biggest mistake will not be eating the shrimp at Casitas!!! They are the BEST I ever had!!!

rmary

Oct 4, 2003
Hi Lefgirl,

We stayed at a villa in Olas de Oro which is right smackdab next to the Aparthotel Caracol for two weeks last December. One thing you simply can't miss is the Tropicoco restaurant which is right in the same complex. The food is fabulous. We ate there several times.

Just across the street is a small convenience store called Rosa's. We would buy beer and water and a few incidentals there. They also have someone that can deliver larger items (aka beer and the large water bottles) on a scooter.