What can i take and what can i not take to Europe?

mariel

Dominisueca
Apr 7, 2004
Hi guys. I'm now in SD and i was asked to bring back to Scandinavia a liter of whiskey *preferrably Jack Daniels but Johnnie Walker will do* I'll be flying back at the end of the month and since i have no previous experience with bringing alcohol i have some questions:

What's better: 1) to buy the whiskey in any shop before the trip and take it in my hand baggage OR 2) to buy it at the tax free shops in the airport?

If #1 chosen, would i have any problems with Air France and/or the people at customs? Would i have to tip the people at customs so they don't take the whiskey (or my digital camera which is worth more than everything i brought)?

If #2 chosen, how much more expensive that could be, if you compare it to buying in a regular shop?

Any other tips/thoughts you could tell me are very welcome.

Thanks in advance :)

mariel

PS: does anybody know where i can find JD?

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
Expensive Liquor

mariel said:
Hi guys. I'm now in SD and i was asked to bring back to Scandinavia a liter of whiskey *preferrably Jack Daniels but Johnnie Walker will do*

What's better: 1) to buy the whiskey in any shop before the trip and take it in my hand baggage OR 2) to buy it at the tax free shops in the airport?

If #1 chosen, would i have any problems with Air France and/or the people at customs? Would i have to tip the people at customs so they don't take the whiskey (or my digital camera which is worth more than everything i brought)?

If #2 chosen, how much more expensive that could be, if you compare it to buying in a regular shop?

You will find imported and quite heavily taxed American liquor in SD to cost a lot more than in the US, so the duty free shops as you leave are likely to be cheaper but they are no great deal either, but probably less than a store in the capital.