Best place for a newb?

aspirin2004

Jun 2, 2004
Hi DR vets,

I'm a computer engineer in Los Angeles and will be visiting in October. I have traveled Baja and speak, read and write some Spanish but am not fluent (usually pack a Spanish translator). What are the best places for a newb like myself to start the vacation at in your opinion? The pictures of DR look absolutely amazing. Is it really that beautiful along the coast? Appreciate all input. Thank you.

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
How much time will you have? And am assuming you will be renting a car to be able to get about more freely?

aspirin2004

Jun 2, 2004
Sorry about that. I'll have 2 weeks. Haven't thought much about a car yet as I usually am hesitant to drive in other countries due to them throwing you in prison and whatnot if you aren't immediately willing to part with $200 for a traffic infraction or you get in a fender bender. Lol.. I usually bus it around.

Jimmydr

Bronze
Apr 17, 2003
www.insearchofchicas.org
aspirin2004 said:
Sorry about that. I'll have 2 weeks. Haven't thought much about a car yet as I usually am hesitant to drive in other countries due to them throwing you in prison and whatnot if you aren't immediately willing to part with $200 for a traffic infraction or you get in a fender bender. Lol.. I usually bus it around.

I would stay in Caberete!

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
Are you a sports/ active person? Tell us more about yourself.

What are you thinking of spending per day.

Where have you traveled before?

Escott

Gold
Jan 14, 2002
www.escottinsosua.blogspot.com
I personally think that the North Coast from Sosua to Samana is a great place to check out. Lush green country with a blue green ocean all the way. I picked Sosua to buy and live but I have enjoyed a lot of other places to go and visit. I was in Cabrera last month and plan on returning as soon as I can. What a nice place to hang out!