Anybody growing avocado?

Barnabe

Dec 20, 2002
I don't know if somebody here has some experience in growing avocado and can give some basic info.

This is a preliminary insight as I might buy a few dozens tareas nearby San Cristobal and some people told me to grow aguacates.

Although the land has a slop (deslinde) being in a montaneous area, I see many avocado trees around, so the soil must be OK.

Are there any tree nurseries?
Is it better to grow for local or export market?
What are the varieties suitable?
What are the tree density/tarea?
yield/tree, tarea acre or hectare?
How many years to get a tree yielding?
What are the annual crops that combine well with avocado growing?

I have had some local info (which sounds "too good to be true") and web search, but I would like to get reliable info from people with hands-on experience.

Thank you for any info you might provide,

Barnab?

sjh

aka - shadley
Jan 1, 2002
www.geocities.com
I am NOT an expert with Avacados.... but here is the info i have.

fully grown trees need about 30 feet between them.
nurseries do sell seedlings. I have purchased them for as little as 15 pesos a piece.

I sold 2000 last season to a traveling fruit picker from 7 trees at the end of the season. I am sure I could have sold more if I had them picked several times during the season.

I think you might be able to grow cacoa under the trees but I am not sure about that. while the trees are young and small you could intercrop with just about anything i expect...

good luck

Barnabe

Dec 20, 2002
Thank you Shadley for that useful info, I had been told minimum 200 fruits/tree, so you confirmed.

Barnab?

Mephs

Sep 11, 2003
A slope is not a problem, unless it is too steep. I've seen avocados grown in land that was once used for coffee. Don't make assumptions about the soil on the plot you are looking at, since it may be different than the surrounding areas.