Is it possible to live in Puerto Plata on RD$20,000/mth?

Buddhadread

Jun 22, 2004
By live I mean,
Apartment rental
Transportation via bus, motoconcho, taxi
Electric and Water bills
Cable TV bill
Telephone bill
Groceries
Clothing (the odd shirt or pair of jeans as needed)
Bar-hopping every Thurs. and Friday, and Ok Saturday too

Any help is much appreciated!

MrMike

Silver
Mar 2, 2003
www.azconatechnologies.com
It depends on what you call living.

The apartment is going to suck,

There will be no backup power, so don't worry about cable since you need electricity to watch TV.

You will have to pick one night a week to go bar-hopping, and maybe skip it if you had to buy groceries or clothes that week.

get a mobile phone on a prepaid plan so you don't get a phone bill.

20,000 pesos a month is 400 bucks, the cost of living is low here, but not that low, and it's not really living either.

Chris_NJ

Bronze
Dec 17, 2003
Plenty of Dominicans do it for less...

I am not an expert but will say it is possible if:

If you get a very basic apartment and don't get ripped off.
If you stick with motoconcho/buses and not taxis.
If you don't talk too much on the phone.
If you are very careful/economical food shopper.
Buy clothes very sparingly.

The barhopping 3 days/week is what really could bust the budget. If barhopping means drinking copious amounts of topshelf liquor and buying others drinks, ending up in motels - than 20,000/month is out of the question. If you stick with Presidentes and always keep your eye on the budget you could do it (just not live like a king).

miguel

I didn't last long...
Jul 2, 2003
Man, you are a funny guy!!

Buddhadread said:
By live I mean,
1-Apartment rental
2-Transportation via bus, motoconcho, taxi
3-Electric and Water bills
4-Cable TV bill
5-Telephone bill
6-Groceries
7-Clothing (the odd shirt or pair of jeans as needed)
8-Bar-hopping every Thurs. and Friday, and Ok Saturday too