Testing the waters, opinions needed

floridabob

Dec 13, 2002
I have been a member of this forum for a few years and will be retiring to the DR. I'll soon be leaving my highly stressful job to just hang out for a while. Profits from the sale of my Florida condo is what's going to allow me to retire to the DR. While I wait for the price to reach the mark I've set (probably within a year), I'm thinking about going down there for a while and hanging out. Since I'm a computer professional I've already had several people tell me that I shouldn't have any trouble finding work if I want it. Although it's not my intention to work anything close to full-time, I would like to know if there are any small businesses, etc. that would need a honest, capable, professional to take care of their computer/networking needs. I would like to build up a small customer base and maybe make just enough to pay for apartment rent until I make the permanent move. Any replies are appreciated.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
floridabob said:
I've already had several people tell me that I shouldn't have any trouble finding work if I want it.

I assume your fluent in Spanish and those people live and own businesses here?

floridabob

Dec 13, 2002
Robert,
No, not fluent in Spanish. Was talking about ex-pats and english speaking Dominicans I've spoken to. As I said, I've no aspirations of working full time, just thought there might be some ex-pat businesses who may need my assistance every once in a while.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
floridabob said:
Robert,
No, not fluent in Spanish. Was talking about ex-pats and english speaking Dominicans I've spoken to. As I said, I've no aspirations of working full time, just thought there might be some ex-pat businesses who may need my assistance every once in a while.