Help! I want to adopt!!

Maruka

Feb 3, 2004
Hi everyone!
This is my first time posting here so be gentle with me! I have been living here for 6 years (and I just found out about this forum this year.....where have you all been all my life??). Anyways,my husband is Dominican and I am American. Last year my husband's brother was brutally murdered leaving behind several children with several women. My husband and I would like to adopt two of his deceased brother's children. The childrens' mother (has never worked and has no way of supporting herself,let alone the children) has consented and we went to CONANI (my husband and I) to ask the judge what steps we had to take along with the childrens' mother in order to terminate her legal parental rights so as to proceed with adoption proceedings. The (female) judge was completely against the idea and said that a law was passed in DR with regard to voluntarily giving up parental rights in order for an adoption to take place. She said that as of February, it is now illegal to terminate parental rights, meaning that parents can no longer give their children up for adoption but rather must abandon them.....she just said for us to take care of the children and give them a loving home, that they have already lost one parent and now we want to legally wrest them from their only surviving parent......she just went on and on and made us feel like a monsters! The children are old( 9 and 12 years) enough to understand what is going on and I think if we sat down with them and discussed what was in their best interest, they wouldn't feel so bad about the whole situation. I am a medical student here (I have a few years to go because I didn't come here to study, I got married, hung around, beach bummed for a few years ,then started school) and will be leaving to do my residency one day soon and I want to be able to take the children with me, not to mention give them a shot at the brighter future that only U.S. citizenship can afford them