20k Germans and 42k Americans do what?

Voyager

Mar 1, 2004
Let me try to ask this question once again... Does anybody know what 20,000 germans and 42,000 americans do in DR? I mean for a living!

See this dr1 article from today Monday,June 28 ,2004.

9. Our growing foreign population
Of the 92 different nationalities belonging to those who requested resident permits in the Dominican Republic during the first third of 2004, the United States, Haiti, Cuba and Colombia topped the list, according to the report in El Caribe. In 2003, Colombian nationals were second, after the United States, in applying for residence visas, and along with the US combined to receive over 28% of all visas issued. Interestingly, there are nearly 20,000 German nationals residing in the Dominican Republic, nearly all on the North Coast. There are 42,000 US citizens in the country, a majority of whom are in the Cibao area. Venezuela has 3,000 citizens in country, most of whom are located in Bavaro and Santo Domingo. Chinese, French Italians and Mexicans also form sizeable populations in the Dominican Republic. Many visa requests are for studies at local schools and a substantial number are requested for business and work reasons.

Lambada

Gold
Mar 4, 2004
www.ginniebedggood.com
Some live off real estate, either renting out their own properties, or selling real estate, some invest their pensions/savings & live off the interest, some are involved in tourism, either have their own excursions, or sell tours or work for tour companies, some are self employed in computer field, I know of one American doctor who works here.....and some do nothing at all & live off their savings. Most retirees whom I know do something, more as a hobby than to live from. And don't forget the foreign teachers here.

dulce

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
"Colombian nationals were second, after the United States, in applying for residence visas."