What cardio-clinical facilities are available in SD?

franco

Nov 5, 2003
I am new to Santo Domingo, so apologies if my questions seem a bit naive. My father will be coming over in November. He has had problems with blood circulation in his heart, and had a heart attack in the rear side wall, after which he's had to angioplastic surgeries (all together, he's had three stents installed). He is stable now, in November it'll be a year since his second procedure. He's been diagnosed with ischemic heart disease.

Due to all of this, I need to figure out what cardio-clinical facilities are available in Santo Domingo. What type of equipment and what level of expertise is available here? And if there is someone with experience who can advise on any possible adverse effects a person such as my father can encounter with such a drastic climate change, coming over from a northern climate (it can get to -20 C in Moscow in November) to the Dominican heat and humidity. Do tourists with similar heart conditions come here to visit? Where do wealthy Dominicans go for heart disease expertise?.. Is there emergency care available or do you need to fly back to the US in case of any issues/complications?

Thanks very much for your help.

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Welcome to the board!

Hopefully Peter & Alex will read this post and reply. If not I will send you the info Peter was so kind to supply to me last year.
I too have had a heart attack and stents installed(also rear side of heart-left circumflex descending artery to be exact!) and have learned from Peter's personal experience that there is excellent care in Santo Domingo.
I had no problems with the climate this past winter when I was there (six months after my attack with NO insurance due to having to wait a year post MI before insurance would cover me).