Deportation from US

Dessie

Jul 8, 2004
Since this is an extremely touchy topic and one that most people do not want to answer based on its nature I hesitate in asking once again.

My fiance's brother got into a bit of trouble (carrying a larger amount of a controlled substance) at a younger age and was one of the "guinea pigs" for a new law that forced anyone who was not a naturalized citizen to accept voluntary deportation rather than forced mandatory deportation. Since this experience this law was not successful and is no longer in place. (I am a paralegal in NYC and have done so much research just to make sure of this). Since then (approx 1990) he has resided in the DR. He has an interest in returning to the US but is very hesitant since he has never heard of anyone that was deported, voluntarily or not, to the DR from the US being allowed back into the US with the option of returning with a possibility of obtaining citizenship.

Does anyone know of anyone who was deported to the DR from the US that successfully returned to the US with the option of being able to apply for citizenship?

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
Was he convicted of possession for the purpose of trafficking or just deported? If so, regardless of the method of the deportation I'd think the US won't grant even a visitors visa since he's a convicted felon/drug trafficker. I would have about zero sympathy if they said no.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
ricktoronto said:
Was he convicted of possession for the purpose of trafficking or just deported? If so, regardless of the method of the deportation I'd think the US won't grant even a visitors visa since he's a convicted felon/drug trafficker. I would have about zero sympathy if they said no.
Not to mention that it's a question that needs to be addressed from the American side and not the DR.