first time in dr

HDS

Jul 21, 2004
Hi!
I am going to be in dr for a week in august ( I am coming for work Santo Domingo for a couple of days, and have decided to stay a few more days to explore).

But I couldn't find any friends to go with me. I would really like to visit Puerto Plata and the surrounding towns. If I had company, I would take the bus and not follow the tourist crowd.

I have read other posts about sankies, getting followed on the beach..., prostitutes, and I'm getting a little scared i might spend my stay in the hotel and never venture out

Does anyone have advice on the safest places/things to do for a woman traveler who speaks english and a little spanish?

thank you!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
My advice is this...

If you are going to Santo Domingo for a very quick job thing and then you have a few extra days of "Vacation", you should not toy with going to Puerto Plata (POP for short). POP is just way too far away for such a limited time.

I would suggest for you to head into the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo (the oldest European city in the Hemisphere) and discover its nooks and crannies. Very atmospheric and historic part of town. Plus, it has a lively bar scene and some nice restaurants. If you want a taste of beach life, head for Boca Chica or Juan Dolio for one day.

That should whet your appetite of the DR. Hope you decide to return later on, but on a real 2 weeks vacation! Then head to the north coast!

HDS

Jul 21, 2004
Nal0whs said:
If you are going to Santo Domingo for a very quick job thing and then you have a few extra days of "Vacation", you should not toy with going to Puerto Plata (POP for short). POP is just way too far away for such a limited time.