Options For Leaving The Country...

Snuffy

Bronze
May 3, 2002
I am thinking that when I return in a week, I will give it a couple months to see how things go with the new gov. and see if they can turn the electricity problem around. If not then I am thinking of taking my wife and daughter out of the country on a long vacation. The question is where. It has to be somewhere that is not to expensive...where we can stay for months...yet a place that is stable...and one that is easy to enter for a dominican. I was thinking of Guatamala because I have a good friend that would lend me his vacation home in the mountains. But, Guatamala requires a visa...so that may not be possible. Maybe Peru...I have connections there.

Anyone have any suggestions?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Good places are the following:

Panama, Costa Rica, Chile, or Uruguay.

I'm not sure of the qualifications for those places, but they sure are nice spots in Latin America.

Guatemala has some serious crime problems right now so, really really think before making the plunge there.

Peru is ok, then again Lima is terribly overcrowded and dangerous and the air is unbreatheable during times of the year, makes SDQ air seem pristine.

Of course, the countries I mention above are not 100% crime free or pollution free, they are pleasant places overall.

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
Buenos Aires, Argentina. A Dominican only needs a valid passport. The city is like New York, only for a fraction of the price. The restaurants are world class. There are also many cultural events and shows there.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
SKY said:
Buenos Aires, Argentina. A Dominican only needs a valid passport. The city is like New York, only for a fraction of the price. The restaurants are world class. There are also many cultural events and shows there.

Excellent choice. I love Buenos Aires, however, yes there is a however, have you been watching Noticiero Universal lately?