Country Living

newstart

Aug 13, 2004
I am planning on moving to the DR in a few short months. I have read many of the post about the cost of living in the City, which does not help me as I want to live in the mountanous regions (country). Where would one look to find country properities, ie not beach front? Is this property inexpensive? and what are some of the major concerns when living in the DR outback? :classic:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
newstart said:
I am planning on moving to the DR in a few short months. I have read many of the post about the cost of living in the City, which does not help me as I want to live in the mountanous regions (country). Where would one look to find country properities, ie not beach front? Is this property inexpensive? and what are some of the major concerns when living in the DR outback? :classic:

Go to www.super-casas.com

or www.century21.com.do
www.remaxnorthcoast.com
www.coldwellbakerdominicana.com

Usually, you would check the location of the property. If they are in Jarabacoa or Constanza area, they are in your league.

Country properties can be inexpensive, moderate, or expensive, depending on personal tastes and proximity to a major town. However, most properties are in the inexpensive to moderate price range, unless in or near a town or tourist zone.

Possible Major Concerns:

Running water availability
Electricity availability (this one is for anywhere in the DR)
Telecommunications availability
Flooding possibilities
Mudslides possibilities
Condition of possible emergency roads (in case you would need to quickly evaquate for whatever reason)

and the proximity to modern amenities for your day to day living.

eudi

*** Sin Bin ***
May 7, 2004
think big