principe

Nov 19, 2002
What do you think of the 99 generals that Leonel retired?? Honestly, my uncle is one of them, but I'm sure he'll be fine without the job!!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Well, the action is a slap to Hipolito so Hail to Leonel!

But, I really feel that there is no need for so many generals, so I am for this move.

Plus, this will help save some much needed money for the government.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Why the hell does the DR need an army, let alone an over inflated amount of Generals? Well done Leonel!

principe

Nov 19, 2002
I'm glad

I'm very happy about this however, I am really more concerned with the behavior of the attorney general I hope his actions are just as firm with criminals as Leonel's have been with these "vividores"

KateP

Silver
May 28, 2004
Robert said:
Why the hell does the DR need an army, let alone an over inflated amount of Generals? Well done Leonel!

That's one thing I've NEVER been able to understand. Every time there's a parade and I see those hundreds of soldiers, I can't help but wonder what they're all for...

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
KateP said:
That's one thing I've NEVER been able to understand. Every time there's a parade and I see those hundreds of soldiers, I can't help but wonder what they're all for...

Kate, how do you have a parade without soldiers?

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
hehe! I saw this thread header and immediately that old drinking song came to mind - y'know, 99 bottles of beer on the wall, 99 bottles of beer.... and so on... Let the generals fall!

Danny W

Bronze
Mar 1, 2003
Actually I think the DR has a tremendous need for an army. Enforcing the border with Haiti, putting down potential insurgency, assisting with natural disasters etc. Or was everyone just kidding? Also, as in the US, it could be a great training opportunity for the uneducated, unskilled young people.

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
Ken said: