NY lawyer moving to DR wants to learn about DR law

Naufrago

Sep 1, 2004
I'll soon be moving to santo domingo with my dominican wife and our kids. I'm a lawyer and would like to become familiar with the laws of the DR. Does anybody know of a course (in english, preferably) in a law school that i could take, or a bar association I should contact, or a hornbook or set of statutes that you might suggest, a good legal bookstore or website, any suggestions please, and thank you in advance.

skiller

Aug 9, 2004
www.neteksolutions.net
Naufrago said:
I'll soon be moving to santo domingo with my dominican wife and our kids. I'm a lawyer and would like to become familiar with the laws of the DR. Does anybody know of a course (in english, preferably) in a law school that i could take, or a bar association I should contact, or a hornbook or set of statutes that you might suggest, a good legal bookstore or website, any suggestions please, and thank you in advance.

http://www.icda.edu.do/english/edi/index.asp
institute of languages they offer both english and spanish programs.

Well some legal web sites are this

http://www.suprema.gov.do
Dominican Supreme Court Of Justice

http://www.lijuvi.com
A Bookstore Of Law Books.

Naufrago

Sep 1, 2004
Thanks for the info. Hope to be joining you in a week or two, after Ivan passes through.

Oche

Jan 6, 2004
I am and willing to provide you with any info within my reach that can help you out. Cheers.

Naufrago

Sep 1, 2004
That's great, do you live in the capital district? I find the news about the reformation of the penal code very interesting. I'm going to give myself some time to get my spanish together, but assuming i can develop a reasonable vocabulary, giving myself a year of study, are there any employment prospects for an expat lawyer?

Oche

Jan 6, 2004