Child Custody Issue

rjs

Oct 4, 2004
Hello.

I am new to DR1 and hope that I can find the answers that I am looking for. I am a Canadian citizen eight months pregnant with my first child, by my Dominican boyfriend. I have lived in the DR for two years, but have since returned to Canada to have my baby. I have no plans at the moment about moving back to the DR for any length of time, as the money here in Canada is much better for raising a child! Anyway, I have come to realize that with pregnancy and parenting comes many additional worries, which is why I am posting here. I have been worried about what will happen to my child if something should happen to me. I am afraid that my boyfriend would try to take my child to live with him in the DR and I DO NOT want this to happen. Should something happen to me, I want to guarantee that my child will be raised here either by my boyfriend (should he happen to come here to live) or by my parents. I DO NOT want her to grow up in the DR with her father and his family, as they do not live in the conditions that I want for my child. (He already has two children that he has difficulty supporting.) If this sounds harsh to anyone, then I am sorry, that is just how I feel. Do I have anything to worry about? What can I do to ensure that this would not happen should the situation arise? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Jozee74

Sep 3, 2004
rjs said:
Hello.