MY SOURCES FOR MY DATA and an Interesting link

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Here is something to think about

The Cibao has always been the major center of human activities on the isand. It was the center of Taino Civilization and it was also the center of European civilization. This is evident in the development patterns of the three major regions of the country.

The Cibao was where the bulk of the population of the country lived, most being of european decent, mostly from Spain. There were natives and blacks in the mix, but most were whites from the Iberian peninsula. The blacks that were imported were brought from Spain, who were slaves already in Spain. Aas a result, these blacks were already "hispanizised". Its no coincidence that the Cibao has most of the oldest settlements and towns in the country.

The East was developed later, mostly in the 1800s, with its major towns developing and growing in the early 1900s, due to the sugar boom. The east consisted of whites (who were a minority in this part of the island) and blacks imported from the British West Indies. These blacks had more of an Africanize culture because the British imported the blacks directly from Africa, contrary to how Spain imported most of its blacks through the mainland. As a results, the cocolos came with their heavily africanized culture which have an impact on that region.

The South developed around the sametime the Cibao developed, but it never really grew much due to its vulnerability of being ransacked everytime Haitian forces invaded, which were quite often. In fact, the south could be said to have the most Haitian influence, such influence is evident in the founding of Barahona which was founded by the Haitians.

How does all of that influence speech patterns in the DR?