Car question, TIA

beachlv

Sep 28, 2004
Hi all,
This is my first time post to the board. Please forgive any newbie mistakes I might make in properly posting my question. We read DR1 every day and we have found the board to be full of helpful information.

My husband and I, and our 10 year old son, are planning a move back to the Caribbean towards the middle of next year... this time we hope for good:)

At this moment in our research, the DR is top among our list of islands upon which we wish to live. Although we have many questions, don't worry, I won't try to ask all my questions today, hahaha.

Today's question is regarding automobiles. I have learned from reading the posts that it would be cheaper to bring in our own auto from the States rather than buying one on island (using the rule that would permit us, as permanent residents, to bring it in duty free in the time allowed).

Our challenge is that our current car is very old and very tired (been to too many islands, really!) and needs to be replaced. Just today, I found a great price on a 2002 Lexus RX300 (2WD) but I am afraid that vehicle might not be a good car to take to the DR. We have lived on a few islands where such a car would not be suitable.

Would this be a good car for use in Sosua, Caberete, Samana?...(mechanics available for Lexus? roads okay for 2WD or should we get a 4WD instead?)

I wish I could be more specific as to where we will live, but we won't be able to answer that until we spend 6months to a year on island.

Thank you all very much for any help that you can share.... and one car or another, we will be seeing you soon:)

solituna

Jan 26, 2004
4 X 4