Economic Illiteracy is a DANGEROUS thing!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
After a long flight from Chile, I'm back in Quisqueya!

My my, its incredible all the rumors and negative attitudes towards the economic situation in the DR has mushroomed on DR1 during the time I was gone!

Let me explain a bit of economics here, because its obvious many people don't know enough to realize that the appreciation of the Peso is actually GOOD!

As you read the following, keep in mind that in the short run prices are considered STICKY, because they don't move as they should in ANY CAPITALISTIC ECONOMY IN THE WORLD IN ECONOMIC SHOCKS!

In the long run, prices are flexible and can respond to changes in supply and demand. In the short run, many prices are "sticky" at some predetermined level.

To see how the short run and the long run differ, consider the effects of a change in monetary policy. Suppose the Central Bank suddenly reduced the money supply by 5 percent. In the long run, a 5 percent reduction in the money supply lowers all prices (including nominal wages) by 5 percent whereas all real variables remain the same. Thus, in the long run, changes in the money supply do not cause fluctuations in output or employment.

In the short run, however, many prices do not respond to changes in monetary policy. A reduction in the money supply does not immediately cause all firms to cut the wages they pay, all stores to change the price tags on their goods, all mail-order firms to issue new catalogs, and all restaurants to print new menus. Instead, there is little immediate change in many prices; that is, many prices are sticky. The short-run price stickiness implies that the short-run impact of a change in money supply is not the same as the long-run impact.