First Visit to Santiago, La Rep. Dominicana

nancybelle

Feb 9, 2004
Hi, y'all, this is my first posting although I feel as if I know several people already. I have been reading at this site for about five months, preparatory to my inaugural trip to La Republica Dominicana. I left Houston October 5 and planned to stay until November 8. Unfortunately, I had to curtail my trip and leave a week early when my father had a heart attack. He is on the mend now and my fervent hope is that I can return to Santiago some fine day. Never have I met more hospitable people! I don't know if I inspire pity or if they are naturally kind, but I suspect it is the latter--perhaps a little of the former!

I am a retired teacher, a survivor of 26 years in the classroom, the last 18 in that very special place called "Sixth Grade." I taught world geography and for years I had a mental list of places I yearned to see. Santiago and Santo Domingo ranked near the top, and the reality of both surpassed all expectations.

My apartment was located near the Iglesia de La Senora Altagracias and I took the "A" concho to the intersection closest to the Berlitz Institute for my classes. I made friends with several fellow passengers who invited me for coffee and I gladly accepted. I loved the countryside, too. With my teacher and a couple of other students, we visited coffee plantations and several small communities between Santiago and Luperon. I especially enjoyed a day spent in Moca and that area.