Malaria ???

aggiemom

Sep 27, 2003
My husband and I will be making our 21st visit to the DR in Jan. We are going to the LTI Beach Resort in PC. We are hearing of cases of malaria, a very bad strain. I am going to the doctors tomorrow for some meds. Is there any news down there about an outbreak ? What should I do or not do other than Deet?

Thanks for any help you can offer. :nervous:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
aggiemom said:
My husband and I will be making our 21st visit to the DR in Jan. We are going to the LTI Beach Resort in PC. We are hearing of cases of malaria, a very bad strain. I am going to the doctors tomorrow for some meds. Is there any news down there about an outbreak ? What should I do or not do other than Deet?

Thanks for any help you can offer. :nervous:
Here in the DR, not much! In fact, most people are not even putting much attention to it even in Punta Cana!

The reason is because it has only a been a relatively few people (though more than before) that have contracted the disease, compared to the number of people in that area at that exact time.

But, you should always avoid mosquito bites, not just because of Malaria potential (this will most likely be temporary until the many still water ponds dry up), but because mosquito bites are a real pain with all that itching, etc.

Don't worry too much, but bring mosquito repellent if you want. Chances are you will probably be fine. Look at it this way, the vast majority of tourist in Punta Cana came and left the sameway they came (well, with a tan of course) while those few who got Malaria got unlucky.

Don't panic, don't worry too much, just come down and take your usual precautions against mosquitos. The media (especially in Canada) is blowing this thing way out of proportion. If the media's hype was correct, half the country would be infected by now! Not really, but you know what I mean!

Jasper

Bronze
Jan 10, 2002