Chinatown in SD

solituna

Jan 26, 2004
Great news

Wow, this is great news! I'm looking forward to seeing if the project can be completed and what it will look like.
I have a favourite spot on the corner of Duarte and Mexico where the Chinese food complies with my three requirements:

Bueno
Barato
Mucho

Co?o! Diablo!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It's about time they employ an urban renewal type of plan for that part of town and many other areas.

That is a part of town that I usually dislike very much.

Not because of the people, but simply because it's one heck of an ugly area. It was a nice area when I was a kid though.

Sep 20, 2003
How many native chinese-dominicans are there in the DR?

Was "China town" ever that Chinese looking to begin with?

How long has a sizable Chinese community been living in the DR?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Just about every Latin country has a sizable Chinese community.

I can't say for how long exactly have Chinese been in Dominican territory, but I will say that they have been numerous as far back my great grandparents time! Thus that would throw you back to the mid to late 1800s.

Sep 20, 2003
I remember reading that the Cuban dictator Batista had a Chinese grandparent.

I also saw CNN news reports that Cuba was restoring its China town district with a mix of government funds and overseas Asian donations.

I was wondering if there was a "noticable" Asian community in the DR or has it intermarried so much it has melted into the population.

The british/Jamacian super model Naomi Campbell is mixed race black/white/Chinese. So I had some notion there was an amount of asian inmmigration into the Carribbean.

Thanks for the reply Nahwols.

Sep 20, 2003
Today, as fate would have it, I was rereading a book that had a small piece of information that some how had not made an impression on me.

Trujillo, Death of the Goat, by Berhard Dietrich.

An excerpt reads: