Wanting to move to the DR Advice needed

becky27

Jun 16, 2004
Hi

My husband and myself are from the uk we have four children and are planning on moving to the DR. kids ages 11,9,7,1

I am currently studying for my english kaw degree, my husband has a degree in web design and wishes to start his own business or work for a company. I want to practice law.

Does anyone have any advice regarding jobs etc, also how i would go about practicing law in the DR.

Also schools, buying a property or renting. And also how much money we would need to start up with.
Any advice would be brill.
Thanks

Snuffy

Bronze
May 3, 2002
On the English Law Degree....you will have to wait for Hillbilly to answer that one as he is a master on the subject of education.

You can search through previous messages and find all the other info. you are looking for. It has been covered several times before.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
English Law is not practiced here

If you have gone to that thread, you will have learned that the Dominican legal system is based on the Napoleonic Code and therefore English Common Law is usless, except for English people that might consult you about things like immigrations and so forth.

Sorry, but you had better do a lot more research before hauling four children into this new land..

HB

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
Hillbilly said:
If you have gone to that thread, you will have learned that the Dominican legal system is based on the Napoleonic Code and therefore English Common Law is usless, except for English people that might consult you about things like immigrations and so forth.

Sorry, but you had better do a lot more research before hauling four children into this new land..

HB

Totally agree with HB on this, ....... A LOT more time checking the country out is required. Not too many people operate 'English Only' companies so how is your Spanish as this will be the MAIN language you will have to do business in?