Need some translation help please...

sunrunner

Jan 10, 2005
New to DR1 so hope I put this in the right place.

Need some help with the language barrier. I am very new to speaking Spanish so it is pretty limited. Was talking to my beau in the DR (he speaks a fair amount of english) and upon saying goodbye told him that I missed him. Well, he didn't quite understand and I had no idea how to say it in Spanish. So please help me out. Is there a spanish translation or better yet a dominican expression for "I miss you"???
Thanks in advance for anyone that can help!!

xamaicano

Apr 16, 2004
Don't know if there is a Dominican term for it but "te extra?o" pretty much works in most latin American coutries. My Spanish friends use something else, I can't remember though.

sunrunner said:
New to DR1 so hope I put this in the right place.

Need some help with the language barrier. I am very new to speaking Spanish so it is pretty limited. Was talking to my beau in the DR (he speaks a fair amount of english) and upon saying goodbye told him that I missed him. Well, he didn't quite understand and I had no idea how to say it in Spanish. So please help me out. Is there a spanish translation or better yet a dominican expression for "I miss you"???
Thanks in advance for anyone that can help!!

Pib

Goddess
Jan 1, 2002
www.dominicancooking.com
Tu me haces falta, porque las noches
se hacen tan largas cuando en ti pienso,
tu me haces falta, por el recuerdo
que tu has dejado en mi coraz?n

Blimey! Now I'll have that stupid song in my head all day. :tired:

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
xamaicano said:
Don't know if there is a Dominican term for it but "te extra?o" pretty much works in most latin American coutries. My Spanish friends use something else, I can't remember though.

The Spanish way of saying it would be 'te echo de menos' but that expression is hardly ever used in the DR. The two expressions mentioned above are the best for the OP's purposes.