Dominican Crafts?

wogteacher

Jan 12, 2005
I am a teacher in New York. We are trying to put together a "Dominican Day" in our school later this year to celebrate the heritage of a number of our students. I was curious as to whether or not there is a simple "Dominican craft" that third grade students (ages 8 and 9) would be able to create in roughly 45 minutes time. I would greatly appreciate any help in this matter. Thank you.

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
The two most famous "Crafts" for Dominican men are irratic driving & drinking Rum & Cervesas! As you probably don't want either of those as student participation for the 'Heritage Day', perhaps you can check on internet re 'Faceless Dolls' & 'Dominican Republic Musical instruments'. There is a fairly unique 'cheese grater' they use here for their merengue music & the old bongos get a fair pounding too!!

I am sure several Dominican posters will come up with far better ideas, but these are starters for you!! ~ Grahame.

wogteacher

Jan 12, 2005
Thank you!

BushBaby said:
The two most famous "Crafts" for Dominican men are irratic driving & drinking Rum & Cervesas! As you probably don't want either of those as student participation for the 'Heritage Day', perhaps you can check on internet re 'Faceless Dolls' & 'Dominican Republic Musical instruments'. There is a fairly unique 'cheese grater' they use here for their merengue music & the old bongos get a fair pounding too!!

I am sure several Dominican posters will come up with far better ideas, but these are starters for you!! ~ Grahame.

Thanks so much!

Quisqueyana32

Jan 8, 2005
wogteacher said:
Thanks so much!

Hi wogteacher,

I'm Dominican and I'm also a teacher... I'll look around and see what I can come up with if you want. made some thing to celebrate the Dominican Independes Day. The only proble is that the kids are preschoolers, but I have some ideas.

Quisqueyana32

Jan 8, 2005
BushBaby said:

That's a little too harsh don't you think?