Just returned from Juan Dolio

alicia68

Dec 28, 2004
I have just returned yesterday from Juan Dolio. I am a travel agent and the purpose of my trip was to check some of the Barcelo properties. They did not know before hand that I was a TA as I wanted to check them out from the perspective of clients. Anyway I wasn't impressed at all. First resort Talanquera. Overall it was a bad experience. First room was on top floor after contacting hotel directly for a ground floor. They moved us after alot of complaining at the front desk. Seems they couldn't figure out why I can't stay on the top floor with a daughter that uses a wheel chair and no elevators. Anyway, next room. Great ground floor near pool! Open the door one bed for 4 people. Won't move us. Fine husband and I sleep on floor for the night. Next day more front desk. People who work the front desk are rude (not just to us but to everyone who wasn't local) Finally new room on main floor but too small for wheel chair. Ok we'll make do. No hot water at all. No water pressure at all. This happened to many people in resort. One of the beds had a large hole in the mattress. Still we try to make the best of it because at least there is no snow. Bathroom is infested with ants. This place is a dump! The only thing going for it is the wait staff in the buffet restaurants and the bar staff. they were very friendly. The Capella is very nice. The food here was no different then the Talanquera. Front desk and housekeeping were also approximately the same as well. The property itself is nice with very nice rooms. The Colonia was the nicest one of all. Staff were great. Food was good. Rooms were nice. It's too bad that this island has some of the problems that it does such as sanitation issues etc. If going there though be sure to take a tour of colonial Santo Domingo very interesting! To sum it up I would be very hesitant to send clients to this part of the island and definitely not to a Barcelo property! :cry:

alicia68