Will they work or not? Some real experiences please....

JohnB

Sep 23, 2004
Help!

The house we have rented in Santo Domingo for our relocation has 220 volts for the airconditioners and 110 for the rest. Our idea was to bring our European electrical appliances (220v) and run then from the 220v circuit for the airconditioners. We are getting conflicting theoretical opinions on whether they would work or not because DR electricity is 60 Hz.

Does anyone have any personal practical experience of this?....has anyone brought European appliances here?..... and do they, or don't they work??

Any and all advice gratefully received....

Thanks.

AZB

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
good question. I am an electrical engineer but many centuries ago. Things have changed since I graduated.
Yes, most electronic items will work, ex: stereo (Cd player, cassette etc) because everthing is converted to DC anyway inside the units. TV will not work because the broadcasting system is different. We use NTSC and I think you folks have Pal / secam. Fridge and A/C will work. Washing machine should work as well. I am not sure if the 50 - 60 hz will make much of a difference in A/C motors. Make sure you won't overload circuit will all heavy items connected to one relay. Your tOASTER AND microwave should work flawlessly. Now if things do break down due to regular wear and tear, i am not sure if you would be able to get parts easily in DR. European appliances are different that american brands or brands which make equipment for american market. DR uses american standard.
Now if I am incorrect, please list your thoughts.
AZB

JohnB

Sep 23, 2004
AZB said:
good question. I am an electrical engineer but many centuries ago. Things have changed since I graduated.