Real Estate Investment In DR

kelli

Feb 27, 2005
Hi everyone-
I am new to this board...as of today!

We are looking for some advice as we have never been to DR for a lengthy stay...have visited a few times on cruise ships but that is it.

We are considering a real estate investment in the area. The prices for beach properties seem reasonable in comparison to Costa Rica, Panama and Cabo. I am a realtor with about 20 years of experience. We are looking purely for investment but wish to enjoy the beaches and communities while renting our propertie(s)

I have read alot of the threads on the board..very informative..thanks for sharing!

The question is this: Where in your opinions, are the best areas for real estate opportunities with regard to beach locations. We are not looking for city properties but we do think convenient (20 to 60 minutes) access to airports, shopping, etc is necessary for our plan.

I would love to say price is not an issue...BUT it is!! We are looking in the (I think) $85,000 to $350,000 range.

We hope to utilize the propertie(s) ourselves 3-4 times per year.

Any and all opinions are appreciated..Thanks!

Kelli

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Welcome to the board, kelli. Your price range is a lot more realistic than many we see asked about. Prices have gone up quite a bit in the past year, at least in the Sosua/Cabarete area.

I'll send you the name of a real estate agent in this area that I can recommend without question. When picking a realtor and lawyer in the DR, you need to proceed very carefully.

For living, this is a very good area.

Escott

Gold
Jan 14, 2002
www.escottinsosua.blogspot.com