Looking for advice.

Montessorian

Apr 1, 2002
www.patriaquerida.homestead.com
Hello to all!

My husband and I have decided to move to Santo Domingo. By trade he is a Race Horse Trainer, and my background is in education. He is Dominican and I am American. We also have a large family. (Married for over 12 years).

Our intent is to rent a fairly large home because of the number of family members. My concern is the as follows;

My husband?s family has always received a small remittance from us both sporadically when they call and ask, and some times fairly regularly. I usually send something; however, sometimes I delay, to show that I am not an ATM. On my last visit I saw that his mother sold the refrigerator I purchased for her. She was given 10,000 pesos and a worse refrigerator than she had in the beginning.

How will my husbands average/lower than average working class family, react when the come and see we live in a 400m2 home. How can I be firm and say no, with out causing bad blood in the family?

We are moving to SD to get closer to them, not to insult them.

Any suggestions, comments?
If this has been posted before direction would be helpful.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Great question!

Unfortunately, I personally don't have an answer for you as I have no family here. But I'm sure one or two of our posters can help that have experienced what you're about to experience.

Setting boundaries will not be easy, especially as life here is so family centered.

My guess is your going to be seeing a lot of family members you never new you had :)

AlaninDR

Mr. Chunky Skin
Dec 17, 2002
Bad blood will always exist. It may be part of human nature to want what you can't have or afford.
From years of experience, the right answer is "i'm not a bank or a charitable organization".
Sad as it may be, the words "give an inch and they will take a mile" come to mind.
IMO, the sooner you "wean" them the better your quality of life will be.

Snuffy

Bronze
May 3, 2002