Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Bronze
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    1,273
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Cell Phones from USA...

    If I am buying a phone in the USA to use here in the DR...what are the specific technical requirements. For example, someone was telling me that they believe it has to be dual-band...but they were not sure about that. Anyone know? Thank You

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,673
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Digital phones get better coverage. Generally, (I often collect donated used cell phones for special projects here), I look for Verizon or Sprint phones from the US (CDMA 1900). They are easily activated in the DR with either Verizon, Centennial or Tricom.

    In fact, my personal cell phone has two nams and is activated with a US number and a DR number.

    You can also purchase a GSM phone and have the sim card replaced by Orange - and then activate the Orange sim.

  3. #3
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by La Profe_1
    Digital phones get better coverage. Generally, (I often collect donated used cell phones for special projects here), I look for Verizon or Sprint phones from the US (CDMA 1900). They are easily activated in the DR with either Verizon, Centennial or Tricom.

    In fact, my personal cell phone has two nams and is activated with a US number and a DR number.

    You can also purchase a GSM phone and have the sim card replaced by Orange - and then activate the Orange sim.
    Did you get both nams programmed in the DR or in the US? I have a Verizon (Codetel) phone I use in the DR and would dearly love to have the same phone (device) in the US but can't get anyone here to program the second nam.

    Any ideas (besides two phones...I have that).

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I use Verizon in both countries on the same phone.
    The girl @Verizon in Santiago showed me how to switch "Nams". I got help remotely from Verizon over the phone in 2 minutes in the USA. Just go into the settings panel on the phone after you have the 809 number put on to switch. I am no techie, and it was fairly easy.

    Its probably best to start with a CDMA phone from Verizon USA with a number already on it!

  5. #5
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lechero
    I use Verizon in both countries on the same phone.
    The girl @Verizon in Santiago showed me how to switch "Nams". I got help remotely from Verizon over the phone in 2 minutes in the USA. Just go into the settings panel on the phone after you have the 809 number put on to switch. I am no techie, and it was fairly easy.
    Did you go to the big Codetel office in Santiago? I pass there a lot and will stop in to get some assistance on this as well. Heck, I am a techie and haven't figured it out!!

  6. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Talking

    The Verizon down the street from Gran Almirante gave me the number.
    The girl in Playero is pretty good in Sosua as well!

  7. #7
    Bronze
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    1,273
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by La Profe_1
    Digital phones get better coverage. Generally, (I often collect donated used cell phones for special projects here), I look for Verizon or Sprint phones from the US (CDMA 1900). They are easily activated in the DR with either Verizon, Centennial or Tricom.

    In fact, my personal cell phone has two nams and is activated with a US number and a DR number.

    You can also purchase a GSM phone and have the sim card replaced by Orange - and then activate the Orange sim.
    Thank you for the answer...but are you saying that GSM phones only work with Orange...that to use Verizon I need a CDMA 1900 phone? What would be the cost of having a SIM card replaced by Orange? Any other factors to consider?

  8. #8
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lechero
    The Verizon down the street from Gran Almirante gave me the number.
    The girl in Playero is pretty good in Sosua as well!
    Okay, I'll stop there when I come into town again. Thanks!

  9. #9
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,673
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I think it is around 350 pesos to change the sim card and activate it with Orange. Yes, you understand my post as to needing CDMA for any carrier but Orange.

    As to the two NAMS, I travel back and forth from the US. It actually works BETTER to have the DR number on the first NAM because if you bring an already activated US phone, Verizon (DR) will overwrite the programming on the first NAM instead of using the second.

    Next time you are in the US, take your DR cell phone with you and have Verizon activate the second name with your US number.

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default cell phones from the US...

    though Cdma phones work well in DR.. I just use an unlock GSM phone.. that way I can use it in other countries.. just make sure it's at least a tri-band phone and your're good ( Quad bands gurantees it will work) ... Gsm phones tend to easier to get...at least for me... and you keep your numbers on the chip..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •