Business License

Jwb

Jan 10, 2002
What are the legal formalities to follow if someone wants to open something similar to the dollar plus stores found in the states.

1- Should you have business license
2- is cedula needed to open a business
3- Should you have business insurance

Castellamonte

Bronze
Mar 3, 2005
Cabrera
www.villa-castellamonte.com
Jwb said:
What are the legal formalities to follow if someone wants to open something similar to the dollar plus stores found in the states.

1- Should you have business license
2- is cedula needed to open a business
3- Should you have business insurance
I'm not a lawyer or expert (Fabio can handle that), but you will need to have a gov't issued number for employees. This is akin to the business license. A cedula is also needed because most businesses require them (e.g. telephone, electricity). Business insurance (liability) is just smart so I'd get that as well.

Oh, yeah, you might want to think of a clever name "30ish Peso Stores" doesn't roll off the tongue <smirk> ;)

Jwb

Jan 10, 2002
I already have a name in mind, but I can't tell anyone who do not know the secret hand shake. The cedula part maybe a bit of an obstacle, guess I'll have to contact contact an attorney for that.

Castellamonte

Bronze
Mar 3, 2005
Cabrera
Jwb said:
I already have a name in mind, but I can't tell anyone who do not know the secret hand shake. The cedula part maybe a bit of an obstacle, guess I'll have to contact contact an attorney for that.
Cedula's take time but I'm sure there is a workaround. Fabio can help or I heard some other lawyer mentioned out here.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
The business of having a company in order to put real estate under it, is a little different to having a company that you plan to legally employee people under and do business here.

That said...

My advice would be to get a cedula if you plan to do retail business here.